How to put a custom macro on quick access tool bar

I have created a simple macro to insert the filename and path in a document.  I'd like to put the macro on the quick access toolbar (QAT), but when I go the customize the QAT, I can't find my custom macro in Macros list displayed from the "Choose commands from" drop-down menu, only those that are supplied with Word 2010.  How do I get the custom macro on the toolbar?

I'm using Word 2010, Windows 7 on a PC.  I am not very experienced at all in the creation or use of macros.

Thanks.

Where did you create the Macro.  If it was in the Normal.dotm template or in a template that you save in the Word Startup Folder, it will appear in the list of macros when you select Macros in the Choose commands from drop down when customizing the QAT.
Hope this helps,
Doug Robbins - MVP Office Apps & Services (Word)
dougrobbinsmvp@gmail.com
It's time to replace ‘Diversity, Equity & Inclusion’ with ‘Excellence, Opportunity & Civility’ - V Ramaswamy

Was this reply helpful?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for your feedback.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

Thanks for your feedback.

How do I find out where the macro is stored?  As I said, I'm very much a novice in the use of macros.

Thanks.

Was this reply helpful?

Sorry this didn't help.

If you do not know, it is stored in the NewMacros module of the Normal.dotm template. That is where recorded macros are stored unless the user acts to save them elsewhere.

Are you sure you've chosen macros as the command type? There are no macros that I know of distributed with Word. Your macro should be there with the name you gave it.

Modifying the QAT and Ribbon in Microsoft Word

You can use the Visual Basic Editor to look for your macro. Alt+F11.

Again, it would be in the "NewMacros" module of Normal.

Volunteering to "pay forward" the help I've received in the Microsoft user community.

Charles Kenyon