Add a user AND install Office 365 Home on new user's computer "PROPER SEQUENCE"

Greetings friends,

I have an Office 365 Home subscription which allows five users to install Office 365 Home on up to five computers. This morning I was trying to help my son get Office 365 on his laptop. So, I installed Office 365 on it using my user account. Apparently, this was the wrong way to do it, since I want him to register as the user for his copy of Office 365. That way, I assume, he gets his separate 1 TB One Drive storage.  I think?

So, I'm guessing I have to correct my error by doing the following things:

1) Uninstall Office 365 on his Toshiba laptop

2) Deactivate his "install" of Office 365 on my account page (though his computer has yet to appear as an installed copy on that page.)

3) Send him the email invitation to set himself up as a "new user" under my Office 365 Home account.

4) Then he downloads Office 365 under HIS user name and his Toshiba laptop gets added to my list of installed copies of Office 365.

5) That way, he gets his separate 1 TB cloud storage on One Drive, that I assume he manages on his own.

Am I right?  Am I wrong? Please clarify!

Thanks very much,

Bill Phillips

Durham, North Carolina

* Please try a lower page number.

* Please enter only numbers.

The Home version is licensed for 5 devices, no matter how many users are on a single PC

If you are the MS Account holder and log on to your MS Account on his PC and install Office that install will be for him as the user (his win user name) and not you and as such he will have OneDrive separate to yours

You could of course on your PC send him a sharing link for him to install office.

If you start Word on your PC>File>Account will show you as the user, if you do the same on his PC it will show him as the user

Contributor since 2006
Currently win11 Pro & O365 Bus, multiple devices

Was this reply helpful?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for your feedback.