Playing back Audio notes recorded on a Word document on Mac over on Word on a Windows PC

I am a learning disabled student who is using Office 365 University edition on a PC.  I have a a note taker who also has Office 365 University edition with Word, but on a Mac. She sits in the classroom and takes notes for me using the Audio Notes feature. This feature allows her to type notes for me and record the audio of the lecture at the same time.  Then when I get the Word document file from her I can review the notes and listen to the exact point in the lecture where the instructor was talking.  I am able to use her files on my Mac mini, but when I try to use the same file on my Windows PC, there doesn't seem to be a way play back the audio.  I can't seem to get s straight answer to as to whether this is

a. Not possible to do
b. Possible to do but I need to apply a fix
c. Possible to do, but I am not using it correctly or need another piece of software installed

Additionally there is some confusion at Microsoft about this capability versus something called Microsoft OneNote.  I don't know if they are compatible and can't find any information about it, I eventually landed on this page, but can't find an answer. http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/onenote-help/upgrade-to-onenote-2013-HA102749817.aspx?CTT=1     I am willing to install OneNote if it in fact will open the Word file that my friend has sent me with the lecture notes and audio in it.

If you answer this question please forward this answer to the AnswerTech people for the Microsoft Windows and Mac PC support groups because neither of them knew what I was talking about.  Please also forward to the Microsoft Pro Support group and the University365 support groups who handles the activations.

Thanks
1> Can you verify if audio recorded outside of word play fine if you bring it over to the windows system.