Word 2010 user form-inserting text fields conditionally

I have created a Word 2010 form for users in different departments; the form has many content controls. I want to be able to add unique additional text fields, based on the user selecting their department in the form. I have tried using quick parts, and I tried creating a text field with autocorrect to replace text if the user keys "#dept1" or "#dept2" etc. The problem is that the quick parts and autocorrect data is stored on my PC, so when another user tries the form these features don't work! The users are not on the same LAN, so there is no common location for me to store the quick parts or autocorrect data. I've been reading through many MVP VBE examples but I am a newbie to VBE. Before I try the examples: does the VBE code "save" into the form so that it will be available to others who use the form on their own PCs? Or is there another, easier way to accomplish this?

Thank you!

Hi Robin1626

If your form is stored as a template (.dotx or .dotm) it may contain its own Quick parts. First save your form as a template file and then create a Quick part. When you are in the save dialog box select the arrow next to the file name Building Blocks.dotx which is the standard storage area for Quick parts.

Perhaps that will solve your issue?

Best regards

Malin D

Was this reply helpful?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for your feedback.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

Thanks for your feedback.

Look into the IF Field. You can put the conditional parts in an IF field that tests by the department picked in a context control. All of the parts will be in the distributed document, but they will only be available if a certain department is picked in your field.

Word Fields

Word Fields Part I : Automate Word Documents With Minimum Code

Making Your MailMerge Intelligent using IF Fields by Dave Rado, MVP