What is wrong with my xbox

First let me say that I am not very tech savvy. I have been using my Xbox to play online multiplayer call of duty Modern Warfare 2 and Black Ops as well as using it for streaming Netflix. I was using this through a wireless connection. I have a fiber optic internet service through Verizon which uses a modem and N/g, and was using the offical xbox g-wireless network adapter. This was working perfectly well until about one week ago.

My Netflix and gaming play almost never ran slow. However about one week ago anytime I try to stream anything or play online multiplayer it runs very slow. When I test the connection from Xbox dashboard, it always comes up as at least 3 bars and usually 4 bars. Yet, when I'm using Netflix it will come up with 0 or maybe 1 bar. I thought it was possibly just Netflix, but the result was the same streaming other videos through things such as NBC news. Also, playing online was never a problem, and virtually no lag or difficulty connecting. Now it takes a very long time to get into a game and then it nearly always lags. Many times I get booted out of games as well.

Again this is completely new. Up until about 7-10 days ago it worked completely fine, but now am having these problems. I have not moved my router or placed anything in between the router and xbox. I tried some of the tips that were mentioned in the troubleshooting page, but without any benefit. Any help would be appreciated.

Question Info

Last updated July 4, 2018 Views 0 Applies to:

Hi,

Did you follow the tips from this guide? http://support.xbox.com/xbox-live/troubleshoot/connection-issues/performance
When you do the connection test do you get full bars?
When you search for your wireless connection, does your console pick up other wireless networks too?  If it does, have you tried changing your wireless channel?

Did this solve your problem?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for marking this as the answer.