What is the point of the beta?

I was a huge fan of BF2:MC... spent hundreds of hours on it... did not like the Bad Company games very much... I was a camera operator at EA's event at E3, and was blown away at the BF3 footage they showed... I downloaded the beta and could not wait to fire it up... what I get? A generic Call of Duty clone...

What sets Battlefield apart from Call of Duty is the epic tank battles, driving a Humvee whiole your gunner mows 'em down... flying a helicopter above the treeline and blowing tanks away... THAT is Battlefield... it is mystifying why EA would release a beta (which is, for all intents and purposes, a demo) that has none of the things that make Battlefield what it is...

A Battlefield demo without tanks is sort of like a Madden demo without football... just makes no sense...

Discussion Info

Last updated July 3, 2018 Views 0 Applies to:

* Please try a lower page number.

* Please enter only numbers.

I agree with alot of what you are saying, but dice are saying they are releasing it just to test the load on there servers, and according to one of their statements 6 times the amount of players are playing this over the BC2 beta so glad they did it just a poor qaulity beta!

[quote user=""]

What is a BETA?
So there seems to be some confusion around what a beta is. That is why I am posting this in order to clear it up :).

Give it a good read :)

When a new game is created or updated, there are several stages in development before the product can be sold in the commercial marketplace. You might remember our Alpha Trial from July which was the first stage, in which the game is tested by software testers and gamers. A beta version is the name for the second stage of software testing.