Unexplained Sudden Slowdown of the Zune Software

About a week ago, my zune software would no longer let me log in and download music.  After contacting support with no helpful results, I discovered that the problem could be resolved by opening Internet Explorer (even though I don't use it) and restoring the settings to their default state.  This fixed the login problem, but ever since then the software has become unbearably slow, freezing when I so much as right-click to edit an album.  I have confirmed that it has also begun using an unusually large amount of RAM.  I've uninstalled and reinstalled several times with no luck.  Now I'm starting to uninstall Windows updates for this months, thinking that an update may have been the source of all these problems (although this blows my mind since microsoft is actually the manufacturer of zune, and itunes runs better on windows than the zune software does).  Nevertheless, I have a zune pass subscription and I love the format of the software.  But I can hardly do anything on it anymore.  Does anyone have any insight into solutions for this problem (other than to call microsoft support?)

Question Info

Last updated July 4, 2018 Views 73 Applies to:

Hey bud. So Zune is running slow eh?

Alrighty, so it started running slow after you restored your IE settings back to default, correct?

First, lets try changing the LAN settings. To do this, open IE>Tools>Internet Options>Connections tab>LAN Settings button>Uncheck "Automatically detect settings">click OK.

Restart the Zune software if you had it open. This has been known to improve the performance of Zune a fair amount. 

Let us know how that goes, or if you have any questions. Cheers! 

Did this solve your problem?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for marking this as the answer.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this response?

Thanks for your feedback.