Question about router setup

I want to play on xbox live and/or surf the internet simultaneously with having to constantly disconnect my ethernet cable, can someone tell me what I need. I have some knowledge of how it works but I don't want to make any mistakes. BTW I have time warner cable roadrunner.

Discussion Info

Last updated July 4, 2018 Views 5 Applies to:

I'd get a router, and two ethernet cables?

Get a wireless connector, unfortunately I can't since I'm doing a major make over for my entertainment setup room. Buy a Wireless adapter at a local electronic store or retailer, gamestop maybe or bestbuy? I have that and a wireless modem that pickups my internet connection for my laptop and desktop.

You can purchase a router and then either have a wireless or wired connection to the router. Check out this page for specific instructions on both types of connections and setting them up:

support.xbox.com/.../default.aspx

homeplugs, they are fantastic!! I have 4 xboxes connected to my internet connection, 2 of which I own (upstairs and downstairs) and 2 lodgers have 1 each

A wireless router is your best bet. Your xbox and computer can work with ethernet cables and if you have a mobile with wifi it can connect too. The set up is straight forward and there is always telephone support if you need it.

[quote user="Jago 85"]

I want to play on xbox live and/or surf the internet simultaneously with having to constantly disconnect my ethernet cable, can someone tell me what I need. I have some knowledge of how it works but I don't want to make any mistakes. BTW I have time warner cable roadrunner.

[/quote]