Question about Ranked Matches

I just started playing ranked KI and I got a few wins under my belt and I get to promotion to level 3. Up to that point I'm fighting guys around my level so the matches are fun and competitive. On the last match I get put up against a level 20. Does ranked matchmaking not take into account your level and just find you any opponent? 

Discussion Info

Last updated July 3, 2018 Views 1 Applies to:

It does but if it can't find someone at your level it expands the search till it finds someone. If you find a level 20 that means that it couldn't find someone around your level at the time of the search.

I'm sure there is some extra math in there that weighs connection and level and finds the best one but the above description is the simplified version.

@KRS ON3: That is correct. The vast majority of my matches in ranked are against people of a similar level to me. Occasionally though, I will get ranked against someone much lower or higher than me. (I'm ranked 13: Gate Keeper)

That is what I figured. Thanks. Just stinks I started to feel good about my talents with Glacius and then I get dumped on by a Spinal. Appreciate the help!

It tries to match make, but it generally fails. It's pretty random. From what I've noticed the "shelf" occurs around rank 5. Before that point match making is semi-reliable, afterwards it's very common to get much higher ranks.

My guess is that, since the overwhelming majority of players are likely ranked 1-3, they all use up each other, after that point there is a relatively small number of players between ranks 4-30 so match making gets very difficult for the server to manage.