Oblivion

Skyrim is my first TES game.

I'm wondering if its worth it to download (if its even available) Oblivion.  How is it the same?  How is it different?  Will I be as wowed as I've been with Skyrim?  Is it as big of a game with multiple factions and settlements.  I'm also relatively new to RPG's (Fallout and Mass Effect turned me) and mostly new to the fantasy genre.  But the one's I've played, assuming there isn't turn based combat, I've really come to enjoy.

I guess I just want to know if I won't be hugely disappointed by taking a step back.

Discussion Info

Last updated July 4, 2018 Views 0 Applies to:

* Please try a lower page number.

* Please enter only numbers.

From a general standpoint it plays out very similarly and it's about on the same scale as Skyrim, but there are quite a few major differences:

1. Leveling is completely different. While you do still level skills through use, your overall level is based only on 7 'major' skills that you select at the beginning of the game. The skills that you don't pick are 'minor' skills, and still function the same but don't contribute to your overall level.

2. In Oblivion instead of having the convenient standing stones you select a 'birthsign', also at the beginning of the game, that is similar in effect but cannot be changed once you have selected it.

3. The combat isn't hand-based; you cannot dual wield weapons and magic is set to a separate button and cannot be 'dual-cast'. Also, the body armor piece is separated as chestplates and greaves.