Newbie here..

I am really interested in trying this game.  I've been watching the "Lets Play" s on You Tube and I think it looks awesome.  But I've never played this type of game before(asyou can see from my profile).  Am I getting over my head?  And do you think trying out the earlier versions of the game will help??   I noticed one of them is on sale for $20.

Discussion Info

Last updated July 4, 2018 Views 1 Applies to:

* Please try a lower page number.

* Please enter only numbers.

Hey there and Welcome to the world of Skyrim :D

I don't think playing the older games is essential but they are worth having a play if you can find them for good prices. I don't think you would in over your head as everyone can play Skyrim, will 5 or 6 difficulties you will be able to match the one for yourself.

Just make sure you have a few days free as this game can and will take up alot of time lol.

Obvlion is awesome!  If you decide to pick it up, make sure you buy the Game of the Year edition, or even the 5 year anniversary version as these have loads of added quests/missions packed in that the initial retail game didn't have.

As for Skyrim, it's very easy to pick up and go... remember, you can always turn the difficulty down if you feel it's too much.

Absolutely! Give it or the earlier ones a try. They are so wide open you can do just about anything you want at any difficulty setting youre comfortable with. I still love Morrowind (and I'm not alone) but it is older so the graphics won't blow you way like even Oblivion will. The Elder Scrolls will consume a large share of your life so be prepared.

Skyrim is the least complex of the Elderscrolls games, Oblivion is by far the best IMO I do still like Morrowind but that one is very difficult to get into and a lot more complex even more so then Oblivion. You don't have to play the previous games to play Skyrim (there are some easter eggs/references in the lore but that's about it).