New here

I'm new to The Elder Scrolls Series. My brother has played since Arena and knows a lot about The Elder Scrools. At first, the game is hard to get into if you only played so many RPGs. The game can a challenge for some. (Like myself) I need some tips and tricks though. Tell me what I need to know below.

Discussion Info

Last updated July 4, 2018 Views 0 Applies to:

* Please try a lower page number.

* Please enter only numbers.

Personally, i think you should take time to explore. Dont dive straight into the main quest, when i played it for the first time I took my time to get to know the game and explore the world. You'll get into the swing of things soon enough :D

As for specific tips and tricks... go to the waterfront in the imperial city and stay at the inn there.

UESP is your friend, use it!  If you have any questions, chances are your answer is on the site.  If you can't find what you're looking for, feel free to post here!

Here's a gameplay guide for first-time players which I hope you find helpful!

Also, if you enjoy Oblivion I would highly recommend its predecessor Morrowind, which can be found for dirt-cheap nowadays

I good thing to start with is going to the Arena in the Imperial City. You can see different kinds of enemies, and get some spending money for later. Plus, if you become Grand Champion, people like you some more. There is really so much to do in this game. And as Payne said, go to the inn at the Waterfront. I hear that they have wonderful entertainment :)

Take everything Azure says with a grain of salt, he's one of the most massive trolls on these forums.

That said, don't take Alchemy, Athletics, Acrobatics, Mercantile, or Speechcraft as a Major Skill and just take the game as it comes. Don't rush and do the main quest, do it very slowly, ideally finishing it by ~level 18-23.