MW2 disc unreadable but nothing wrong with disc

My Xbox clearly has issues with a perfectly fine Call of Duty: MW2 disc, while others play fine. it's a false positive and i would like a way to bypass this lie of an alert. i popped in the disc, it updated and signed me back in, i get into the game long enough to get the options set, no artifacting or any glitching, and all of a sudden this error pops up (and closes the game) saying 'disc unreadable.' it's completely random and trying to install the game produces the same alert despite there being no signs of read issues (no odd clicks, or spinup/spindown associated with CD-ROM issues reading a disc and i am an IT tech) and there are no signs of glitching or freezing before the alert appears. it's unplayable at this point as it won't let me get past the initial game setup (where it adjusts the horizontal and vertical margins) i am convinced my Xbox doesn't know what it is talking about. the game is new, and there are no scratches or blurs on the disc at all. conversely, my Black Ops disc is full of scratches and plays fine. any way to bypass this alert and continue  playing?

Question Info

Last updated July 4, 2018 Views 222 Applies to:

* Please try a lower page number.

* Please enter only numbers.

You can most likely bypass it by installing it to the your console. If it still won't work properly you'll need to factory reset it or send it in for repair.

Did this solve your problem?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for marking this as the answer.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this response?

Thanks for your feedback.