Insanity: Squad Cryo or Geth Shield Boost HELP!

Ok, I'm a soldier on insanity, and I'm wondering what you guys think I should do:

I'm thinking of getting squad cryo, but to unlock that I would have to give up significant points in Disruptor Ammo (which I don't mind btw, I'm doing all of the geth/mech missions first), and I wouldn't be able to get the 10% weapons boost that my bonus power, Geth Shield Boost, offers, because I would need some points from there as well.

So basically, my question is, as a soldier on insanity, which would be more useful: Squad Cryo, or the 10% weapons damage bonus that Geth Shield Boost offers?

Thanks - I've been mulling this over with a few friends, but can't figure it out.

Discussion Info

Last updated July 3, 2018 Views 5 Applies to:

Personally I think that the Geth Shield Boost would be the better option.

I think that the Cryo Ammo is a waste of time on Insanity because it does nothing to protections and on that level every enemy tends to have them.

Ive only played as an Adept on Insanity, and the Geth Shield is a must for me.  Cryo ammo is one of the better ammo powers in my book. For Disruptor ammo, I usually max this out on Zaeed, and choose to give it to the whole squad. Perfect for Geth Levels.  Id say the benefits of cryo, are better than the extra 10% weapons bonus.

Finished Insanity as a Soldier using the 'Fortification' power often, the Cyro ammo is my favourite ammo, I never grow tired of shattering the enemies like glass...:-)

Honestly, using Geth Shield Boost - or Barriers or Fortification - on a Soldier is kind of an unnecessary overkill. Most of the time you should be firing from Adreneline Rush, which gives you more than enough of a damage boost - and if you pick Hardened you take 50% less damage anyway.