Indie games: Simple to make or retarded developpers?

There are so many horrible Indie games on XBL that it makes me wonder if they are really so simple that Anyone can throw one together? I tried to see what sort of software was needed to make something but I could not access that information without first paying for a programmers' subscription. I have very little programming knowledge but I'm sure I could put something together that's better than those 'massage', 'dating', 'wrong number' etc. crap!

Discussion Info

Last updated July 4, 2018 Views 1 Applies to:

* Please try a lower page number.

* Please enter only numbers.

most indie developers dont try and just wants a lil bit of easy money. there are some games out there however that are amazing and XBLA worthy

The software you will need is to write a XNA Indie game is:-

• Visual C# 2010 Express (if your using XP then 2008 might be better). (C# means C Shape its the language that your XBOX can read).
  • XNA 4.0 Or XNA 3.1 if your using Visual C# 2008.
  • You will need to make sure that you have a minimum of DIRECT X 9.0c.
  • .NET Framework is you to date and that your SDK is up to date.

Both Visual C# & XNA are free to download and the Creators Club is free if your a student, but there is also a option to skip the payment when signing up. The payment is so you can publish your content. As your planing to learn the basics just skip payment for now.

http://www.downloadpdffree.com/ as loads of PDF tutorials and Creators Club also as tutorials.

NOTE: Learning to program is any language takes years to become a experienced programmer, You have to practice as much as possible and don't expect to have a game up and running in a week.

GOOD LUCK :) any more questions feel free to message me.

OP if they are simple to make you should try making one.

[quote user="Bad Instincts"]

OP if they are simple to make you should try making one.

[/quote]