Halo 3 partly unreadable

I recently started playing the halo 3 campaign again, and when I reach the 3rd mission, or load some of the later missions, I get the message "disc unreadable" and it brings me to dashboard.  The same problem occurs for some of the online maps, but not all of them.  I've tried my friend's disc and also removed my hard drive with no results.  I'm still using the same xbox that i played the game on originally, and i have never had problems for this or any other game before now.  No other games i own have this problem.  Does anybody else have a similar problem or have any solutions or suggestions on how to fix this (short of repair, as I would rather not play halo 3 than pay the $99, since I am out of warranty)?

Thank you

Question Info

Last updated July 4, 2018 Views 5 Applies to:

The only thing I could suggest is to try installing the Halo 3 disc on the harddrive and playing from there or deleting all the content off and re-downloading it.

Did this solve your problem?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for marking this as the answer.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this response?

Thanks for your feedback.

Try clearing the cache of your Hard Drive, go to system settings select your hard drive and press Y, you should see the option there.

This will clear out an temporary files and force games to reload them. It will also clear your system updates, so you will be prompted to download those again when you insert the disc.

This procedure will not damage or remove any save games, so is safe to do.

Sorry this didn't help.