Error Code PUR5000

Whenever I try to make a purchase on my Xbox or off of the site, I am given the error message PUR5000 and it tells me to try again. Can someone explain this?

Thanks

Question Info

Last updated July 4, 2018 Views 37 Applies to:

Sorry but that code is not listed.  Your best bet here might be to contact phone support for more assistance.

support.xbox.com/contact-us

Good luck.

Did this solve your problem?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for marking this as the answer.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this response?

Thanks for your feedback.

It's happening to a lot of people today with TitanFall launching... Onyx is correct that it is not listed and based on analysis that's likely because it's not an error code related to failed transaction, which is all MS seems to think we need to know.

Based on what I have experienced, many years of past experience with e-commerce, as well as my experience wit MS, it is likely that the payment service is so busy it can't get an initial connection; therefore it's not a processing error, but more of an initialization error. It occurs to immediate to be a processing error.

MS should get a list of all error codes from the e-commerce service and the payment processor (they are available if they ask) and have them all posted - not just the ones they think may be relevant.

Sorry this didn't help.

Do any of y'all know how to fix the problem?

Sorry this didn't help.