Dragon Age II worth playing?

So I started playing this game a while back and I thought it was alright. I couldn't quite get into it though.. it was just very bland and boring. It felt like a cheap knockoff of Skyrim. To anyone that's played the game before, does it get better as you progress through? Story, gameplay, graphic wise or is it pretty much the same of what I've already played, which was about 2 hours.

-

Also, not to make another topic, how's Dante's Inferno? Is it decent? I'm thinking about borrowing it from a friend. 

Discussion Info

Last updated July 3, 2018 Views 12 Applies to:

* Please try a lower page number.

* Please enter only numbers.

Didn't like the first Dragon Age: Origins and the sequel wasn't any better, it was actually worse IMO. The Dragon Age series is one of the biggest gaming disappointments to me of this generation. I absolutely loved the Mass Effect series, and was hoping the Dragon Age series would be just as good and fun, but both games came off as extremely boring and bland.

Dante's Inferno is a fun hack and slash game, but not great by any means. It's worth a playthrough.

The characters are what saved the game for me. The interaction between those you take with you is brilliant and you get some genuinely funny lines.

-

Combat though is the same as in the first game, you just mash the A button to do basic attacks. Graphics wise it is very samey, you'll soon get fed-up of seeing the same places recycled.

-

The story is okay but it has annoying time jumps and you kind of get the feeling that the most interesting stuff happens off-screen. Also no matter what group you side with, you always end up doing the same two boss fights anyway.

Dragon Age; Origins is one of my favorite games (just need the "traveller" trophy for the platinum); but after all the DLC crap bioware dumped on every game since KOTOR, I'd decided to hold off on the sequel until a GOTY edition appears- there should be a demo on the XBL marketplace.