Capture The Flag

I've just recently discovered how brilliant a game this mode is. I've always been a Team Deathmatch kind of guy, it's just what I've been used to I guess. But I gave Capture The Flag a try a week or so ago, and it's really rekindled my love for Black Ops after TDM was becoming stale to me as obviously most games do after playing them for so long.

Capture The Flag is so different though, and there's a genuine sense of wanting to win the game as opposed to merely working for yourself and your k/d. Sure it's nice to get a good k/d in Capture The Flag, but you get the urge to win the match far more I think, and this seems to resonate amongst most of the players as well which is great.

I was just wondering how you guys play this mode, what sorts of strategies do you utilise etc? I'm a real novice as you can tell when it comes to CTF, but I think I'm still a really valuable team member to have. A lot of games I'm in on CTF, the majority of my team will do exactly that - run to capture the flag, while I tend to sit back and defend, simply because I prefer it. I've always been a reserved player, the type who uses Ghost, moves to cover, sits there for a kill or two, then moves to another cover, and repeat, as opposed to running a whole lot. I just prefer to play a tight game, and with their being respawn waiting times in CTF, you're obviously more use to your team alive than dead it goes without saying. What I'm trying to say but seem to be waffling on is that, mostly players seem desperate to capture the enemy flag without thinking of defending our own. I even hear players complain in the lobby that those on the other team were defending their own flag too much which to me is pretty absurd. The way I see it is, is that it's meant to be defended, and to get the flag you should dispose of those defending it first - not necessarily 'should', but you get my point.