ZyXel prestige 660HW won't connect even with open nat?

I have searched your forums for days trying to resolve this issue, and no suggestions have had success. I have an embarq Zyxel Prestige 660HW. Our Xbox was connected through a Wired connection directly to this modem/router. We had a strict nat type, and after opening all ports, and allowing uPnP access, and removing the firewall restrictions, we still had a strict nat. We have few friends on our account, and so the issue of being unable to connect to parties didn't affect us - so we ignored it. We do have one friend who has a moderate nat, and though we are, more often than not, unable to connect to him - we can play the occasional game or two. Since then, a new friend has come along with an open nat and were only able to connect with her one time after many tries, over several hours over the past few days. 

We have found and followed every suggestion on your forum, and other web help sites. 

The latest attempt was to bridge the ZyXel through a laptop. After following the instructions to do so, it finally - for the first time ever - gave us an open nat! The bad news is that we still cannot connect to our new friend. They have a Netgear (no other information), but it says it comes out of the box plug and play, ready to go - and has an open Nat. This leads me to believe we are still struggling with a strict nat, although our system says otherwise. (I saw this given as a suggestion in another of your forums.) How can we know for sure we've done all we can do, and that our system is ready to go. 

When connected via our laptop, this is the status report:

w: 0000 - 000B

X: 0600 - F001

Y: 20A8 - 4840

Z: 0000 - 0000

ID: FFFF - FFFF

L: 0015 - 10F0

Q: 8007 - 0435

T: Wired

A: 192.168.137.37/255.255.255.0

G: 192.168.137.1

D: 192.168.137.1/0.0.0.0