Xbox Slim and Elite hardrives

Hi my name is John,

My friend has recently bought bf4 and doesn't have a hardrive. I told him he could use his old hardrive from his elite into his slim through a youtube video. He is very scared that he might get banned, but I have been using my elite hardrive in my slim since november of 2010. I haven't been banned yet because I have been using the official 20gb hardrive i bought from the microsoft store. Could you please clarrify that you won't get banned for system tampering because this is one of your own microsoft official hardwares and I have been on live for 3 years using the old hardrive.

Thank you.

Question Info

Last updated July 4, 2018 Views 1 Applies to:

There is actually a sticky on the top of this thread that covers this very subject - forums.xbox.com/.../4558.aspx

Did this solve your problem?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for marking this as the answer.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this response?

Thanks for your feedback.

i dont understand why didnt i get banned if this was the case. I dont think this is tampering and ive been using this hardrive for 3 years now. Will they ban me?

Sorry this didn't help.

The enforcement team may just not have noticed yet. It wouldn't be an automatic banning if you log on with a hard drive like that. But it does put you at risk for being banned.

Sorry this didn't help.

Hi John