Xbox One offline diagnostic tool

Hi there,

First off thanks for taking the time to read this.

My Xbox is stuck on the green loading screen "The green screen of death as they call it..."

I have downloaded the OSUDT2 file. Please note i have no possible way of finding out the OS version as i cannot get past this screen, however the videos i have seen online send me to this file.

Holding the bind button and the eject button, then pressing the power button does nothing. I've held this for around a minute and nothing happens, the xbox just turns on as normal instead of booting from the usb port. Please note i am using an external hard drive, surely this should not be a problem?

If anyone could give some assistance or direction that would be great. I will mention i am a software engineer and capable of following instructions easily which is why i am confused as too why it will not boost from the USB.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Are you in the preview program? If so, I don't think the OS version you have is listed there yet, since it hasn't been officially released. If not, as long as your system is up to date, it should be the newest version. If it doesn't work, I believe you will have to do the factory reset using the Offline Diagnostic tool. You can find it and all of the instructions at: support.xbox.com/.../offline-system-update-diagnostic-tool

If you are in the preview program, you'll want to create a post here: forums.xbox.com/.../default.aspx

Did this solve your problem?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for marking this as the answer.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this response?

Thanks for your feedback.

Hi, thanks for your reply.

Could you explain what the preview programme is please? I have reason to beleive the Xbox was turned off via the plug during a system update if that information helps.

Thanks again

Sorry this didn't help.