XBOX ONE Black Screen

To be clear, I'm an IT professional, working with a wide variety of hardware/software compatibility issues in my time, so this one kind of hurts.

I just purchased my XBOX ONE yesterday afternoon, and by 9 PM last night (and part of today), I'm pretty much ready to return it,  and get my money back. I have an Onkyo TX-NR515 receiver (best of class on The Wirecutter in 2012, when I bought it). For the sake of simplicity, I simply unplugged my XBOX 360, and used most of the same cables to plug my new ONE in. Obviously, I knew my Kinect wouldn't work, so I didn't bother plugging that in. Turn everything on - and black screen. I *** down the XBOX and I see for a moment a bright green screen with the words, XBOX ONE in white, and then it fully powers down.

Went through the whole chat thing (and Microsoft, get your guys to read what we write when you ask for information about the problem - I don't like having to type everything twice in unending detail because the customer support tech has read what I wrote, but can't relate it to the series of "how dumb are you" questions they have to start with).

Did I mention I'm a little POd with the whole process so far?

This is not an old receiver, running old firmware. This is a relatively new receiver, that has had no issues with any other device I've hooked up to it. I'm not doing 3D.

If I hook the ONE into my TV directly, it plays without issue, except that if I want sound, I have to use the Digital Audio input on the receiver. Which is pretty much a pain. I also can't use any of the on-screen menus for my receiver if I have things hooked up this way. So, yes, I can make it work on my TV, but not the way I think makes the most sense.