Xbox account is incorrectly set up as a child account, Microsoft refuses to fix it

My son's xbox account was somehow set up as a child account, even though the registered age on the associated Microsoft account is over 18 and has been for some time.  Microsoft not only refuses to fix it, they refuse to tell me what the entered birthdate on the account is or when it was set up in that manner.  They provide no way for me to check for myself under the guise of "their system doesn't have that information".

For all I know, there could be a database error on their side (I work in IT and I know these things happen all the time) that's causing the issue.  Microsoft could've *** up.

So now my poor son, who bought an Xbox One and games on his own, has no recourse other than to not play a number of games that he purchased or lose months worth of status on games he was able to play by creating another account. 

Has anyone ever been able to get Microsoft to fix an Xbox account in this manner?  I know it's "the rule" and all, but it seems patently ridiculous.

Question Info

Last updated July 5, 2018 Views 2 Applies to:

Nope because it cannot be seen.

First e age of the ms account is irrevalant thats why they cannot see it

The xbox account asks you to enter the birthdate again and whatever he entered is set in stone noone can change it as per the copa laws until that birthdate turns 18 ir whatever age of majority is in the region korea is 16 if i remember correctly thrn you can promote it

But due to copa noone can change it for you

Changing the ms account to the xbox axcount wont work

Only a new xbox account

Did this solve your problem?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for marking this as the answer.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this response?

Thanks for your feedback.

Who set up the account?

Sorry this didn't help.