Why doesn't Microsoft make a better product?

I understand that nothing in this world is going to be perfect.  Cheap and overpriced things will break and sometimes things go wrong unexpectedly.  But in America today people are struggling more and more due to greedy people that "we" elected to be our voice in this country.  Im a struggling college student that just wants to be able to enjoy the little things in life.  I go to class all day then have to work all night and at the end of the day i want to be able to turn my xbox on and have it work.  To me that is one of the little things I enjoy about life.  I don't have billions of dollars to buy whatever I want and have every luxury available to man.  I appreciate the smaller things in life and realize that someone has always got it worse than I do.  But this shouldn't mean just because someone isn't as "lucky" as I am that when something I worked and earned for breaks on me that I cant be upset and want a reason as to why.  Especially given the price on certain things today you expect your going to get your moneys worth.  Example:  Any xbox that I have ever owned has only ever lasted a year on average, again on average.  I have owned 5 xbox's in total from 2007 and four of them I purchased myself.  First normal white with 20 gb HD lasted the longest at almost 2 years then got the red ring.  When that one crapped out I  got the arcade being that I already had a hard drive and I just needed the console.  That arcade lasted a couple of months then got the red ring so I got my money back.  Yet again another hassle worth hundreds of dollars.  Next I got the elite and I used the money from the arcade to pay for some.  That elite was like a baby to me, my pride and joy but lasted under a year(red ring) but I still had the warranty and got a new one for free which lasted a few months(red ring).  Again hundreds of dollars later microsoft still cant make a better product.  Red rings/disc trays getting stuck/not being able to