What happens to my Gamertag when my Windows Live ID is deleted?

What happens to my Gamertag when my Windows Live ID is deleted?

WIll the Gamertag be able to be re-registered with a new Windows Live ID?

Thanks.

 

Question Info


Last updated July 5, 2018 Views 4 Applies to:

There is currently no way for Xbox Support to change the Windows Live ID associated with your gamertag for security reasons so this would result in losing access to your gamertag if you deleted the Windows LIVE ID. If you are going to be deleting your Windows LIVE ID for any reason, I suggest you change the Windows LIVE ID associated with your account by following this guide to ensure you will have continued access to your gamertag.

Did this solve your problem?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for marking this as the answer.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this response?

Thanks for your feedback.

I didn't request for my Windows Live ID to be deleted but it is already in the process of being purged from the system.

Does that mean that the Gamertag will be effectively locked?

Did this solve your problem?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for marking this as the answer.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this response?

Thanks for your feedback.