VGA vs HDMI

There sure is a lot of difference in opinions in reference to VGA and HDMI and monitors vs TVs.  Let me put in my two cents worth and hopefully it will give some of you that are still conflicted on this subject, some answers.

I am fairly new to gaming but have been in the networking and computer industry since 1981 when the first pc came into the household, I think it was 1981 or there abouts.  Have a CCNA certification which I keep up so am not a novice in the networking and computer world..  Hey I am 68 but still like to play with electronics, so if you hard core gamers don't mind listening to me here is what I have experienced.

I have a 360 slim and  love to see if I can get a piece of equipment to work at it's maximum performance.  I am mostly into video, not so much audio, but of course we need decent audio also in gaming.  Here's what I have found.

I started with a 22 inch Samsung Monitor, Samsung 2220WM, which has a native resolution of 1680X1050.  I tried component cables and switched to a VGA cable because the picture was much clearer and the colors more vivid.  I wanted to try HDMI because the hype in the industry is that HDMI is the way to go.  The Samsung had only DVI and VGA so I purchased a HDVI to DVI cable and tried that.  The monitor would go black periodically and I would have to do a factory reset and start over.  The picture was not as clear as the VGA, colors washed out, so went back to the VGA which in my opinion was 100 percent improvement over the HDMI to DVI setup.  Had to use a Microsoft dongle for the sound in the HDMI to DVI setup also, which I didn't like, but the sound was as good as with the VGA cable.  As an afterthought I should say using the VGA i had to set the resolution to 1280 X 1024 for the best picture, any higher I would get the famous black bars top and bottom.