update failed - "system update stopped"

I have a xbox 360 slim, 250 gb hard drive with the Kinect. I am not new to computers, but I am a complete noob when it comes to xboxes.

During an update my otherwise perfectly functioning xbox crashed. There was no power outages, not even a blip. I did not turn off the console to cause this. I have not bumped, moved, or otherwise jiggled the xbox while it was updating. I was sitting on the couch watching it go through the update process.

My xbox is hardwired to a Dlink 655 router over a gigabit network. The router is connected to a Scientific American cable modem. I tried hooking up a PC to the cable, it works fine.

The message on screen is :

"QUOTE"

SYSTEM UPDATE STOPPED

Can't read the update from your xbox 360 hard drive. Please reattach it. Your console will automatically restart and continue the update.

If the problem persists visit www.xbox.com/support.

STATUS CODE  335A-396B-B380-0F00-C000-0185

"END QUOTE"

This is all the information I could find on the tags:

Model # 1439

Serial # 403440603205

Product ID # 03100242403440603205

Mfr Date 2010-08-02

Contains RCPMI 1410--293

Troubleshooting steps I have taken:

1.  I have removed and reattached the hard drive, no help.

2.  I bought an identical hard drive from wally world and tried it, no change. This tells me it's probably not the hard drive.

3.  I tried installing the update by burning an update iso to a cd, no change. Closing the tray will bring up the "Update in progress, applying update" screen for a minute, then it goes back to the previous screen. This happens whether or not there is a disc in the dvd drive, which leads me to believe the OS is at least semi-ok because it seems to be communicating with the dvd player.

4.  I tried installing the update with a USB jump drive, no change. "Update in progress, applying update" comes on for a minute, then back to the previous screen. As with the DVD, the OS seems to be communicating with the USB drive.