Transferring Data

I got a new Xbox 360 S console and I have a old Xbox 360 Elite (I think it's the Elite) and I want to transfer data. My one question about it though is should I turn the new xbox on and make a new profile THEN transfer all my old stuff? My disc drive went bad in my old one around the time I started playing Army of Two/40th Day/Skyrim. It kept whining real bad and would not pick up and one update from the Skyrim game messed up and had to retry it worked on the second one though. It works every now and then but sometimes it gets to be picky and take forever to pick a disc up at all. I couldn't even play a DVD I knew worked in it at one point.

Question Info

Last updated July 4, 2018 Views 5 Applies to:

I'd appreciate some help on this!

Did this solve your problem?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for marking this as the answer.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this response?

Thanks for your feedback.

Nope. Simply recover your profile on the new console, you'll need to enter your e-mail and password to complete the process. Once you do that you can either use an Official MS transfer cable to move your content over or you can use a USB flash drive. Then you'll need to perform a license transfer for all your download content. 

Sorry this didn't help.

I have yet to be on Xbox Live a day in my life. My question is do I have to start it up and make a new profile at all just to transfer all my other profiles and saved data. After that then I can sign in with my profile on my main profile and go on Xbox Live cuz of the 1 month gold feature.

Sorry this didn't help.