slow boot and dashboard/hdd read errors

I have a decently new 360 slim. around six months old. internal and external hdd. the external being a couple months newer than the console. a few weeks ago it started asking for updates every time it was turned on and periodically throughout the session. im pretty new to xbl so I let it do that for about a week before deciding it couldn't be normal. so after some research I cleared the cache of both hdds multiple times and deleted some of the useless items on the drives. still it kept asking for updates. so I transferred all of my data from both hdds to a flash drive and formatted the external. then moved everything back to the external, keeping the internal empty. since then it has stopped asking for updates but the boot takes about three to five minutes before it gets to the dashboard, even then the dashboard is insanely slow, avatars and profiles take another five minutes or so to load, it appears ive lost one profile, and sometimes it doesn't read everything on the external, sometimes it does. when it doesn't, like when a profile is missing, or saves under a profile are missing, a reboot usually brings it back. aside from the one profile that doesn't seem like its ever coming back. ive tried cache clears, disconnecting it from xbl, and nothing helps. I don't want to do another format cuz last time I lost a profile in the transfer. speaking of, I still have a save file that was attached to the lost profile. now its marked as belonging to an unknown profile. is there any way to attach that save to another profile? or is it just a worthless save now?

Discussion Info

Last updated July 4, 2018 Views 4 Applies to:

I think I'm having the same problems as you. Can you remember what day/date this started happening to you? 'cus I'm thinking my problems started because of the most recent update, which was on the 17th, but I dunno.