Simplicity vs. Complexity in Design

I have a Bachelor's Degree in Graphic Design and my projects can extend far beyond what is on paper.  I've never designed a UI before other than a few websites, so I'm not trying to suggest or insinuate that I'm some sort of expert, but I am curious what others think about this topic as it pertains to consoles.

I'm a fan of clean, simple interfaces.  I think that when we are trying to relax and we have too many images/icons/menus in our faces, it can cause a slight rise in anxiety and agitation that we may not even fully be aware of.  I think that is what I feel when I experience the Windows 8 UI, the Xbox 360 (to some degree as the designs have changed over the years) the New UI's for the X1 and for the new PS4 UI.  I think there is a pretty universal thought that MORE IS MORE and I think that with the X1 and why it's getting a colder reception than the 360 is that there is simply TOO MUCH....or maybe it's because we SEE too much of this complexity when most of it could be eliminated or integrated in a way that is more pleasing to the eye and brain.  

I realize that we eventually adapt to what we are exposed to, a flood of videos, pictures and advertisements that are now shoved in our faces and eventually we know where to find what we are looking for, so it may not be a problem for some.  I'm not saying I have ADHD, but even the UI on the 360 is waaaaaay too much for me.  I know a lot of people say they prefer the "Blades" design.  It is mentioned again and again.  And I agree with that.  It was clean and SIMPLE.