RMG - Random Map Generation

I may not be the most experienced gamer of all time, however... i do remember TEAM 17 using random mapo generation a long time ago for "Worms2" and has been used more recently i am sure. What i want to know is if it is possible to make a game around RMG... and if so why not do so? it would make a unique game experiance for each person who played the game. If a story mode was included then each time you played the game youy would get a unique experiance. I'm not a programmer but i do know that setting certain rules for the generation should make it possible right? Online play would become more interesting as you could have a new map all the time instead of having to download new ones all the time... i know it might be impossible as the processing power needed for it might not be available yet and you would need a lot of time and effort and about a million different varietys of weapons etc if it was a shooting game at all... but i just thought i'd put this on here and see if i'm alone in assuming an RMG game would be popular...

Leave me some comments... i want to know what YOU think!!!

Discussion Info

Last updated July 4, 2018 Views 5 Applies to:

It would be possible to create content creation tool to do it, but you would have to devote a huge amount of programmers time to create decent automated AI tool. Most of that would be refining its understanding of what you want and the technical limitations it needs to stay at. Just picturing a lot of fairly simple levels that an artist would need to populate with added details and bug test. I used to let the AI bots go mad in my Half-Life, Unreal, and Quake engine maps to find bugs and judge how well it played single and multiplayer.