Reading....Open Tray again and again and again

Guys..little history.  I HAD one of the first 360's with the HDMI port.  Had it for years, then one day it just stops reading disks.  The whole "Reading.....Open Tray" thing.  It was out of warrenty, so I tried to fix it myself.  FAIL.  I'm a computer nerd by trade, so swapping a DVD drive should have been no big issue...guess I didn't realize they were coded/flashed until it was too late.  So, that's console number 1 gone due to the Reading....Open Tray failure.

I bought a new one in January 2010.  By June 2010, that one had failed with the same problem and was sent off to Microsoft for repairs.  It was replaced.  In Feb. 2011 the same problem again, and it was replaced.  Here I am, September 9, 2011 and having the exact same problem again!  This time, I believe the unit is out of warrenty.  What the hell keeps on causing this?????

Would you believe, I still have my ORIGINAL XBOX and it still works?!  This is literally my fourth 360 console with the same problem, going on the 5th.  PLEASE explain why I'm having such terrible luck with these?  Guys, I hafta be honest, I have a Wii sitting right next to the 360....maybe I just scrap this headache altogether??!!  Thanks

Jim

Question Info

Last updated July 4, 2018 Views 0 Applies to: