Possible debris problem??

It all when I received a brand new copy of Modern Warfare 2 as a Christmas gift a few years back. When I started playing multi-player the disc stopped working and the console could not read the disc. This was very strange to me because I'm very careful with my console, and I'm also careful with my discs and keep them fingerprint and scratch free. I then ejected the disc from my console and looked on the back of the disc to find tape like debris on it.

This was rather unsettling for me because there was also the possibility that it spread into my console. I soon found out for sure later when I decided to play Battlefield then check the back of the disc where I then found the same debris which originated from the defective Modern Warfare 2 disc. A week later I replaced the MW2 disc with a new one, cleaned the small amount of debris off my Bad Company 2 disc and called it good. I had never encountered the issue again.... Until now.

February 22, 2013, I just inserted the Doom 3 BFG edition game (which I also received as a Christmas gift from another relative who purchased it brand new from wall-mart.) only to encounter the same problem. There was debris on the back of the disc. Was it the same debris from the MW2 disc that was just floating around in my console or did it come from the Doom 3 disc?? I'm a desperate gamer in need here.

Question Info

Last updated July 4, 2018 Views 0 Applies to:

Hello,

When you eject the DVD tray is there anything stuck to the bottom of the tray?  Just wondering cause if there was let say tape on the MW2 disk way back when and as it spun some of it was scrapped off by the slot opening in the tray.  Some could be stuck at the bottom which is being tossed back up onto other DVD's as they spin. It cant really be anywhere else because that side of the disk is only read by the laser and never touches anything, while the outer edge is spun by a little wheel, or should be.