Headset Surround Sound Angles

I just picked up a Turtle Beach headset with surround sound.   So, I've been playing around with the angles and I was curious what angles those with similar headsets use?

I started with 135 degrees in the back and 45 degrees in the front, but as I play around with it sometimes other angles seem better.   But, it's hard to play with the settings and play a game enough to get the full sound experience so I figured what better place to ask what others use? 

Discussion Info

Last updated July 4, 2018 Views 225 Applies to:

Typically I use the same as you have, the 135 rear, and 45 front. Some games have been set up differently though. I just started playing Warhammer 40000: Space Marine, and with the 135r/45f sounds seemed reversed (sounds from behind me sounded like they were right in front of me).

I think that's why they included so many angles (my set has 6). Not as much preference as games that may have their sound set up differently. So just pay around with the angles!

For my own curiosity, which set did you end up with?

I got the Turtle Beach DXL1s.   If you know a lot about headsets I'd like to know your opinion of them.

As for the sound right now, I'm sticking with the 135/45, but I've only played a little bit of Undead Nightmare.   I'm almost done with that, then I'm gonna sample some games and play with the settings more.

From what I've read weeding through a Google search, some people have said the best angle sometimes depends on the game.   This kinda makes sense as sound would be different in say a FPS were you are the character as opposed to a 3rd person game  where the character is in front of you.