Formal Complaint Regarding X-Box Account Investigations

Before I begin this post I would like to disclose that I was told to post my formal complaint here by the X-Box Live support hotline at 1-888-4MY-XBOX.

At the beginning of last month, someone gained access to my X-Box live account and was able to get my credit card information to make purchases for their own X-Box. In response, I contacted X-Box Live support and had them open an investigation. In the meantime, I cancelled my credit card and had my bank refund the funds associated with the fraudulent use of my account.

During this initial phone call, I had asked: "I work with technology for a living and know my passwords are strong and I obviously don't disclose my password to anyone and haven't used it outside of my X-Box login. How could this infiltration have occurred?"

The support agent stated, "Did anyone invite you into a private party to play a game?"

I stated, "Not me, but my nephew has been playing Borderlands with people he met online and probably joined one, why?"

The agent said, "Oh, well, people who invite you into private games can get access to your login information on your console."

I said, "Wow, that's a gaping security hole, why wasn't I informed of this when I log into live?"

She replied, "Oh, we always recommend you don't accept game invitations from people you don't know."

I responded, "No you don't, I've never been recommended as such, wouldn't it make more sense to require someone to be your friend before inviting you if such a security hole exists?? Or at least let people know?"

She responded, "We are working on getting the issue resolved and apologize for the inconvenience"

I stated, "That's fine, no big deal, how long will this take?"

She stated, "An average of 2 weeks you will not have access to your full gold membership."

I said, "Understandable."