CONNECTING TO XBOX LIVE AT U OF M TWIN CITIES CAMPUS

Hi I'm a freshman living in Yudof Hall on the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities Campus. I'm having trouble connecting to Xbox LIVE like most people that I've talked to about it.  There's a ton of people that live on campus at the U, and I'm assuming also a good amount of gamers who are experiencing this problem too, so if anyone finds anything that works, you should prob post it here.  

I've been reading about it, and here's the main problem: When trying to connect an Xbox to the ethernet jack, it won't connect because "Resnet" doesn't recognize your Xbox's MAC Address as one that has connected through an x.500 username (your @umn.edu email address). A tech support guy in my building e-mailed me a solution that in theory should work, but for whatever reason just doesn't work on mine.... Here's his step by step process, it's worth a try!

:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

Free-Yet-Temporary Way

On the Computer:
1. Plug your computer into the one of your room's Ethernet ports 
2. Get on the internet and authenticate computer with Resnet by using your school username and password (X.500) 
3. Look up your computer's MAC address (see below if you're not sure how to do this) 
4. Turn on your Xbox 360 
5. Unplug the Ethernet cord from the computer and plug it into the Xbox 360 

On the Xbox:
6. Under the "My Xbox" tab, go to "System Settings" 
7. Go to "Network Settings" 
8. Select "Wired Network" 
9. Go to "Configure Network" 
10. Go to the "Additional Settings" tab 
11. Select the option that says "Alternate MAC Address" 
12. Select "Alternate MAC Address" 
13. Enter the MAC address you found on your computer into the blank field 
14. Go back to the page where you originally chose to "Configure Network" and now select "Test Xbox LIVE Connection"