Complete beginner - Xbox Live help needed!

Hi, My son has recently been given an Xbox live wireless adaptor and 3 months Xbox live membership. We only have an Xbox Arcade with 256MB. We can connect to our home network ok, however, the Xbox then tries to install a 190MB update - which it obvioulsly can't! This would appear to stop us accessing Xbox live correctly. Is it simply a case of buying extra memory, e.g. a 8/16GB memory stick (as seen on Amazon) - is it as straightforward as that?

Many thanks for your help in advance

Question Info

Last updated July 4, 2018 Views 5 Applies to:

Yes, you can use any USB Flash Drive which has minimum 1Gb on it ;).

On your Dashboard, go to System Settings, then go to Memory. Plug in your 1Gb (or more) USB Flash Drive. Now, you should see it on the list. Select it and press A. Click on Configure Now. It will erease everything on the USB Flash Drive, but you will be able to use it as a memory storage option for your Xbox 360. Don't worry, you can revert the USB Flash Drive Storage Device to a normal USB Flash Drive.

Warning, you can only use two USB Flash Drives and use a maximum of 16Gb of them (E.G, you have an external Hard Drive of 250Gb, it will only use 16Gb of it). It means 32Go of total USB Flash Drive storage :P.

I don't know if this works as you just bought the adapter, so if you didn't connect to LIVE before, I'm not sure if you have the right Dashboard to use USB Flash drives, but you can give it a try.

Hope this helped,

SilvergabLIVE

Did this solve your problem?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for marking this as the answer.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this response?

Thanks for your feedback.