Can I transfer 1 xbl family member and their game data to a new 2nd xbox and still use the already purchased dlc on both machines.

Sorry for the epic!

To get away from split screen play, and family conflicts around "who's xbox time is it"? I bought a second xbox and want to transfer one of the two (heavy using) xbl family members to this new machine with all of their saved game data. We're obviously all on the same machine at present, and therefore all sharing the map updates which have been purchased and downloaded by the said member's gamertag. Is it possible to transfer this member and their saved game data, over to the new xbox, and still use the already purchased map updates etc on the new machine for that gamertag and the old machine using the other family members gamertags. The way I think it works is that the map updates etc are tagged to both the machine they were downloaded to and the gamertag that downloaded them, allowing the person with that gamertag to use the map updates etc on another machine without buying them again?

Is this correct and how does it work for purchasing future updates once the said users gamertag has been migrated to another machine; can it be as simple as recovering their gamertag back to the original xbox to download any future updates, and then using 'recover gamertag' to migrate it back again, and hence allowing the new map updates to be used on both machines, across all family gamertags again, or is this process a nuisance or just not possible?

If it's not possible, then it's a bit of a kick in the teeth if you 'invest' in more xbox consoles, only to lose the ability to download the dlc once and share with all the xbl gold family members like you can do on a single machine!

Cheers

 

 

Question Info


Last updated July 5, 2018 Views 1 Applies to:

When you download content the license is tied to the gamertag that purchased the content as well as the console it was purchased on. If you move the family member to a different console, they will be able to use the content as long as they are the gamertag that purchased the content and that gamertag is signed into Live (no other accounts on the console would be able to use the content). If it's not the gamertag that purchased the content, then they would have to purchase the content again in order for it to work.

Did this solve your problem?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for marking this as the answer.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this response?

Thanks for your feedback.