Are All Microsoft Points gone forever? What should I do?

I bought my Xbox in Australia but set my Xbox LIVE account which I've been using for 2 years now to UK (When I was in Australia), unaware of the issue I continued to play on the account unable to purchase games that were on the Xbox Marketplace, I could only get arcade games. I did not want to lose all my purchased goods such as avatar items, gamer pics and the possibility of losing or re-downloading games such as the ones that were on the Xbox LIVE promotion 'Free with Gold' so I am yet to migrate my account. Now that this message pops up when I try to purchase DLC I get the message that Microsoft Points are retired, I knew they were soon going to change after being answered on another post but didn't know when. This message which pops up when I attempt to purchase something says that I will get 16.66 Pounds sent to my Microsoft account as an exchange from my recent bought 1950 points. I do not want pounds, I want Australian dollars as I am in Australia. I understand that it is showing pounds instead of Australian dollars because I set my account to UK when I first created the account but what would happen if I migrate my account to Australia? Would I lose that 1950 Microsoft points? Would I lose most of my purchased goods whilst migrating the location? Or would I not be able to migrate my account without losing those points which I purchased only a week ago?

Please reply ASAP I'm worried that I would have lost 20 so dollars.

Thank You 

Question Info

Last updated July 5, 2018 Views 8 Applies to:

Hey,

There is a new forum for the 2013 update questions   It has a shiny new FAQ to accompany the update! Looking at the FAQ, you need to spend the money on your account before transferring regions - as currency won't transfer with you.

FAQ link: support.xbox.com/.../microsoft-points-retire-faq

New forum link:forums.xbox.com/.../4231.aspx