2 xbox ones, one NAT type open other strict

I can't get both xbox ones onto NAT type open, just from playing around with the settings on xbox and resetting the router the xbox's switched status' between eachother but I can't get both onto open.

I am not very tech savvy so please bare with me but I think my brother used 'port forwarding' for his xbox before I purchased mine, could this have something to do with it?

He has had his xbox since the release date whilst I only bought mine yesturday.

Question Info

Last updated July 4, 2018 Views 1,009 Applies to:

I am in the same boat... My husband and I have two xbox Ones and are experiencing the same exact issue.  Our router is not port forwarded, it just lets whoever turns their box on first get an open NAT and the other one gets stuck with the strict.  Really wish there was any easy fix for this!  The only permanent solution I can think of is getting the cable company to wire me up a separate drop from the tap with a separate modem provisioned to a separate account.. Only problem with that is the $$$ and having to convince them to set up another account for the same address.  I know there has to be an easier answer, I mean this is what routers are for after all right?

Did this solve your problem?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for marking this as the answer.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this response?

Thanks for your feedback.

Hey KLLN 4 DA LORD, hopefully we can get it sorted in this thread. We've both had 360s for years and never had any problems with connection

Sorry this didn't help.

I forgot to add, on my detailed network statistics my detailed NAT information says port-symmetric

Sorry this didn't help.

Final thing I forgot to mention ( it's late and I'm tired lol) I have UPnP turned on and I assume it's been on for years as before today I've never had to fiddle with all this stuff!