2 Red Rings

Firstly, I've read all the related support documents on this website. Please don't link me to them, I know it's normally a good place to start and as such I started there. I'm also not under warranty or willing to pay for repairs from Micro$oft, as I could buy a new Xbox for less than £62 elsewhere.

So a few days ago my Xbox (one of the originals, I think a 'premium' model) started to RRoD. 2 lights, which according to Microsoft is over heating. The thing is it only happens with certain games. I've played the THPS HD demo for a few hours - no problems. Batman Arkham Asylum for hours - no problems. However, CoD:Black Ops lasts less than 5 mins before RRoDing and the same for Battlefield 3. 

I'm thinking that it's either CPU/GPU over heating? I'm far from an expert, but considering the games that do/don't make it RRoD, it seems relevant to how...intense, out of lack of better word, the games are. The warranty expired Christmas 2008 so yeaaaah, don't mind opening it up.

was wondering if anyone could either provide better diagnosis of what's wrong and perhaps a solution? Thanks. 

Question Info

Last updated July 4, 2018 Views 6 Applies to:

Hello Ethan,

two reasons are for having 2 red rings.

1-Over heating is the main problem. If the system is on run for much longer time, then there is a chance to get over heated as the cooling ventilation system fail to function effectively. It can be attributed to the failure of cooling systems like the cooling fan and vents. It can be cooled off by switching off the system for two hours.

2-Lack of voltage can lead to 2 red light error. See whether the plugs are properly inserted to an outlet specially designed for Xbox console and check whether it is not shared by any other electrical equipment.

Also there are guides on the internet on how to fix your problem but it requires unscrewing the console.

It is not recommended if you are not sure on what to do.