Gamertag change for Minecraft on Nintendo Switch

I recently got Minecraft (Bedrock Edition) for the first time on my Switch and when I created a Microsoft account for it, it gave me an auto-generated username that I would like to change. I have been unable to find sufficient information to fix this, please help! I've never used it before on any other gaming system (I do not have an XBOX and thus cannot change it from there)

Change your gamertag through a web browser:

1. Go to the Change gamertag page at account.xbox.com.
  2. Sign in using the Microsoft account email address and password associated with your gamertag.
  3. Enter your new gamertag, and then select Check Availability.
  4. Once you find an available gamertag, click Claim it
    Note If your gamertag was created for you when you initially signed up for Xbox (meaning you did not choose it yourself), you can change it one time for free. Additional Xbox gamertag changes cost extra. 
  5. If you created your own gamertag at signup and want to change it, you will be charged (fee varies by region and currency).

Game ON!

89 people were helped by this reply

·

Did this solve your problem?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for marking this as the answer.

How satisfied are you with this reply?

Thanks for your feedback, it helps us improve the site.

How satisfied are you with this response?

Thanks for your feedback.

I tried that, but every time I try to visit account.xbox.com, it automatically takes me to a page about changing your child's Xbox privacy (https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/4026796/microsoft-account-change-childs-xbox-privacy-online-safety-settings) and so I can't sign in. It even happens when I go to Xbox.com and click on "my account"--I get redirected to the same page. I have no idea why this keeps happening. Also, I can't click on "sign in" on the Xbox website.

15 people were helped by this reply

·

Sorry this didn't help.

I fixed it :)