Adding XBox Live to a Child Account

Hello,

I'm a bit of a newbie to XBox.  We recently got an XBox One for my kids and I'm having difficulty adding XBox Live to their accounts.  I went into settings and have it set to ask a parent, but when I try to purchase on their child account it says "You need a Parent to Buy this"  "we can't send a request".  Isn't it supposed to send a request for me to approve the purchase.  I can't seem to figure out how to purchase and apply to my child's account.

Please let me know if I'm possibly missing a step or having something incorrectly set up in my settings.

Thanks

Only a parent using the Microsoft family service can change Xbox privacy and online safety settings for a child account. If you're having trouble changing your child's settings, make sure your Microsoft account is a parent account in a Microsoft family. See whether you're a child or an adult in a family by signing in at account.microsoft.com/family. To change your child's settings:

• Sign in to the Xbox settings page with the parent’s Microsoft account. You may be asked to verify that you're the account owner. If you're having issues signing in to a Microsoft account, go to Microsoft account help.
  • Choose the gamertag for your child's account. If you want to update the privacy and online safety settings for the parent or adult account, choose that gamertag instead. 
  • Select theXbox One/Windows 10 Online Safety tab or the Privacy tab, review the settings currently in place and then update those you want to change.
  • Select Save before leaving or switching to another tab. If you don't save the changes before you move to the other tab, your changes won't be saved.
  • Have your child sign in and sign out of their account to make the changes take effect. 
Game ON!

9 people found this reply helpful

·

Was this reply helpful?

Sorry this didn't help.

Great! Thanks for your feedback.

How satisfied are you with this reply?