Wiki Article
Applies to 21584 views

Delete Wireless Network Profiles in Windows 8(.1)

Technical Level : Basic

Summary

This Wiki will show you how to remove a Wireless network profile from all versions of Windows 8 and Windows 8.1. There are two methods for doing this. The simplest will be explained in Method 1.


What are Wireless Network Profiles? These profiles contain all information about the network, the security key, the SSID and all other information that is needed to connect to a wireless network.

Details

Method for users running Windows 8.1 Update

The new update (that will be) released on April 9th 2014 added two new features, which makes the information below obsolete (method 1 and 2), due to some people not upgrading the information will stay available for viewing.


Removing a single Wireless Connection

To remove a Wireless connection in the new Windows 8.1 Update simply follow these steps:

  1. Open the right Charm bar (by dragging your mouse to the right top corner) and choose Settings, then click on the icon shown below: 

  2. Right click on the network you wish to remove
  3. Click on  Forget this network

Method for removing multiple (saved) profiles

  1. Open the right charm bar
  2. Click on Settings
  3. Click on Change PC Settings
  4. Click on Network
  5. Click on Manage known networks

Click on the network you wish to remove and click on Forget


Support for users running Windows 8.1 (non updated) and Windows 8

Method 1: Using the WiFi overview.

There are two ways to open the Wireless network overview

  1. Open the right Charm bar (by dragging your mouse to the right top corner) and choose Settings, then click on the icon shown below: 



  2. In your task bar click on the icon shown below

Windows 8 users: After opening the wireless network overview, right click on the network you would like to delete and choose Forget this network. 

Windows 8.1 users: In Windows 8.1 this option will appear if you fail to connect to a Network (see image below), the option to remove a network by right clicking on it is removed. If you would like to remove a network profile manually, then please read method 2.

Method 2: Remove profile(s) using Command Prompt

This is more technical, but easy to execute if you follow the steps correctly.

1. Open a Command Prompt Window (Windows Flag + R and type CMD or Start and type CMD then choose Command Prompt)

2. Type the following command, this will provide you with a full list of all Wireless Network Profiles saved on your current system.


netsh wlan show profiles

3. To remove a Wireless Network Profile use the following command, for example I’m going delete Pustjens 2. Replace the bold text with your own network name.

netsh wlan delete profile name="Pustjens 2"

4. Press enter and wait a couple of seconds, you will receive a message saying that the profile has been deleted.



5. You’re all done now, the network profile will be removed if you look again (step 2)

Additional after Method 2: Remove the Wi-Fi settings from your registry.

Even after removing your Wi-Fi trough command prompt some settings remain, you will notice this when you re-add this network, it will be called Wi-Fi 2 for example, in order to make sure this does not happen you can choose to follow these steps as well. It’s not required, the settings are gone, but it will clean up the remains.

Warning: Before doing these steps, ensure that you have made a system restore point, editing your Windows Registry can lead to system instability or worse. 

Step 1:

Open Registry Editor by pressing Windows Icon + R on your keyboard and type Regedit.exe or open Modern UI (start) and type Regedit.

{regedit image}

Step 2:

After opening Registry Editor Click on the > icon left of HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE

Repeat these steps for Software > Microsoft > Windows NT > CurrentVersion > NetworkList > Profiles.

You should now see a list like in the picture below. Perhaps with more or less entries, depending on how many networks you have saved.

When you click on an entry you will see this on the right side:

As you can see in the picture, the yellow marked information is the information we require, look in the list for the same Profilename as we deleted with command prompt. Then right click the folder on the left side and choose Delete.

The network settings are now removed, and if you add a new network with the same name it should no longer get a 2 behind the name.

Hope you enjoyed this guide, please respond if something is unclear.

Yuri

Comments (11)

progress