I receive the following stop error when trying to install Windows XP: Stop: 0x0000007B

I need help with this error code:  Stop: 0x0000007B (0xF7C85524,0xC0000034, 0x00000000, 0x000000000)

I'm a Microsoft Answers noob. I have an old computer I'm trying to reinstall Windows XP on.  It's a Dell XPS Dimension 3 (3.40 gigahertz Intel Pentium 4, 1G RAM).  It won't boot normally or in Safe Mode.  I have tried using Fixmbr, Fixboot, Bootcfg /rebuild, chkdsk /r, Memtest86, Killdisk.  I have tried installing using another hard drive (which leads me to believe it might be a hardware issue).  It gave the same error code, I believe, although I didn't write it down.  The only thing I've found that I haven't tried is "How to recover from a corrupted registry that prevents Windows XP from starting" since it says that it won't work on OEM devices.  The error code is Stop: 0x0000007B (0xF7C85524,0xC0000034, 0x00000000, 0x000000000).  I tried installing Ubuntu on both drives and they installed and worked properly.  I don't know what else to try except hardware troubleshooting, although I'm not too good with hardware issues.  If you have any recommendations that might put me closer to a resolution I would greatly appreciate it!  

P.S.  Windows XP actually ran on the second hard drive I tried (which is currently the drive in the machine right now).  I installed it and it booted straight into Windows.  Yay!  I rebooted this setup many times with no problems.  But I had an issue with Microsoft Security Essentials updating so I thought a clean install would be better.  In retrospect I wish I had tried harder to fix that issue but I didn't.  The first hard drive incurred a Windows crash that caused me to upgrade to a Windows 7 machine.  This was over 1.5 years ago.  I just thought the full back story might help.

Question Info

Last updated March 30, 2018 Views 586 Applies to:
Answer