Windows XP Print Spooler Error Code 1068

I have a print spooler error code 1068.
The fault has just occurred today 28/04/2012
I have been using a Canon MP240 printer for the past 4 years.
The print Spooler is set to automatic.
I have followed the instructions given and I have the following error messages
The Dependency Service or Group Failed to Start.
This message is shown in LexBceS & Fax
I am using Microsoft Windows XP,
Home Edition,
Version 2002,
Service Pack 3
Answer
Answer
As I wrote when you posted this identical question at the end of an outdated thread --

I really don't know what "instructions given" you may have followed.  There are a lot of "instructions" in the old thread.

It's also important to give the complete text of any error messages rather than paraphrasing as you have done.

All I do know is that you have a Canon MP240 printer that is not working because the Print Spooler isn't running.  And the reason that the print spooler isn't running is most likely because you at one time had a Lexmark printer (or a Dell badged Lexmark printer) and and that printer was improperly uninstalled.

I don't know if your Canon printer ever worked and if it did, what happened just before it stopped working.

You might have noted that I asked several questions of the person who originally asked a question back last November.  You might have answered them yourself in order to save time.

Please provide the complete error message.

Do you now or did you ever have a Lexmark or Dell-badged Lexmark printer installed?

What happened just prior to the printer ceasing to work?

And what version of Windows is installed, including service pack? [You did answer this one; thanks.]

I also don't know if you have a fax modem with which you want to use Windows XP fax services.  I ask this question because when you paraphrased the error message you received, you mentioned "Fax."