Installed Windows 10 Tech Preview on Dell Inspiron Mini 10

I'm an old-school computer builder - as in the first computer I built came in a bag and required a soldering iron.  As such, I admire optimization and positively loathe bloatware (such as Windows Vista) and decided that the 'ultimate test' I could perform (to see if WIn10 was anywhere near so lean as XP) was to try it out on my old Dell Mini 10 - jokingly named "10 for 10".

System Specs

Intel Atom N270 CPU

~ Single core with Hyper-Threading

~ 1.6 GHz CPU clock

~ 533 MHz FSB

1 GB RAM

1024x600 display

60 GB Corsair ForceGT SSD (non-original)

I came into this fully expecting to loathe Windows 10 and, thus far, it's beginning to grow on me - I'm amazed at how smoothly 10 runs on this tiny little netbook (shipped with XP).  CPU utilization averages 9%, peaking to around 50% when performing basic desktop tasks.  A tad sluggish in places but, given that this is a 5yo netbook, the overall performance is still remarkable.

The claim that "Windows 10 runs on anything" is, thus far, holding true.

Only two caveats thus far:

1 ) Even as old as this particular model is, there are still a lot of these smaller netbooks in use world-wide.  1024x600 or 800x600 is their maximum (and native) resolution - below the 1024x768 minimum required by the default apps.  Devs might consider adding 1024x600 / 800x600 versions of these apps to be used when the installation program detects lower-resolution LCD display.

2 ) REQUIRING users to log into a Microsoft account to utilize third-party apps such as Skype has to go!  If one recalls, such strong-arming crippled Xbox One's standings among consoles (required Kinect and always-online), and rectifying it after-the-fact was a tacit admission of guilt.  Although the apps feature a "Sign in without Microsoft account" option, it doesn't work - this needs to be fixed and quick!

I'll be back to update this post as the opportunity presents.

|

Was this discussion helpful?