We've put our best features for keeping kids safe online into Windows 10, Xbox One, and other Microsoft products and services using your family's Microsoft Accounts. If your kids are still using Windows 7 and Windows 8.1 with parental controls - this might affect you. Consider upgrading your device to Windows 10.
For customers who have Windows 7 devices with Windows Live Family Safety installed, or Windows 8.1 with Family Safety, the optional online services are going away soon. Your device will continue to enforce the limits you set, but soon, you will no longer receive emails of your kids' device and internet usage from Windows 7 or Windows 8.1, or be able to see usage and set limits at account.microsoft.com for these older devices. Setting limits and viewing usage will still be available in the User Accounts & Family Safety control panel on your device.
Does this affect me?
- If you were an active user of these online management features, you should have received an email from us with the instructions below.
- If you don't use parental controls, or your kids are all on Windows 10, then no! There is no change for you.
- First, check the "User Accounts & Family Safety" control panel. Does it let you view and change your parental controls settings? Then you are not affected by this change. Nothing to worry about!
- If, however, you only see a link to the Family Safety website, or it says some settings are managed by Windows Live Family Safety, then you will not be able to change settings until you disconnect your device from the online parental controls service.
- Uninstall the Windows Live Family Safety app. You can do this in Control Panel, Add/Remove Programs. You can uninstall all of Windows Live Essentials or just the Family Safety part.
- Then, use the User Accounts & Family Safety control panel to set limits and view usage.
- Please note that support for Windows Live Essentials ended in January 2017, and extended support for Windows 7 ended earlier in January 2020. So, please note that you are using these products at your family's own risk, and these instructions are only being provided as a courtesy.
In the Settings app, change each user from "Child" to "Standard User". Once you have done this for each account, the online sync will be turned off.
Then, you can switch these accounts back to Child. The User Accounts & Family Safety control panel will be unlocked for you to set limits and monitor device usage again.
What if I need help?
Please create a support thread on the Family forum at https://aka.ms/familyforum and we can help you there!