Windows 8: Clean Install Fails BEFORE country Screen

Firstly, to frame things nicely, I'm a computer tech.

Now, the problem. I put the DVD with windows 8 (x64) in the drive, and boot from it. I get the slanty W8 logo, then after about 20 seconds, I get the :( page saying W8 has encountered a problem, and it's going to reboot. This happens so fast, I cannot read it.

What I've Got.

- An XP machine (E6300 core2duo / 4GB RAM / 320GB HDD) -> Which W8 hates, apparently.
  - I have the x86 and the x64 versions of Win8 on DVDs.  (I'll be using the 64 bit version)
  - Another machine that is working with XP and W8 on it.*

* if you thought, Wait, what? Well, as I've never had need to resize a drive before, I did a practice run. I ran up a machine with XP (32bit) on a 100% partition, shrank it to about 50%, created a new partition and installed W8 (64bit) on the new one. Flawless. Got the W8 bootloader and everything. (Pentium D 3.something / 4GB RAM / 320GB HDD)

So, I resized my main PC's HDD (I'm using that XP right now - so that worked), and I've created the NTFS partition for the other partition (W8), and tried to load it. Failed even before the counrty-choosey screen.

I read somewhere that it could be hardware related, so I've swapped the DVD drive, and removed the built-in card reader (which was USB anyway). Nothing.

I've tried Windows 8 32 bit DVD AND the Windows 8 64 bit. Both deliver the same result.

This is very annoying.

One as yet untried hunch is that I have two identical DIMMs for RAM, plus a 2GB single in the other channel. Does Win8 require some sort of love in that area?

-- EDIT --
I've just taken the HDD from my test machine, plugged it in and booted it. Same response, sad face, and reboot. Had a look for error logs & in the event viewer. Nothing. I assume it's not default set up for boot logging.

Does confirm that it's hardware I guess. Since W8 on the test machine is now working.

Hardware:
  - nVIDIA GeForce GT 520
  - Gigabyte GA-965GM-DS2